I received this text message last March 30.
Pued pob akong humingi ng 2long sa inyo? I’m Marie, 21yo freshgrad po from Bacolod City. Ggawin ko po ang lahat ng kpalit na gusto nio, ma2lungannyo lang po akong mkpunta sa mynila. My job hiring na po kc sna ako jan sa san mig-ortigas, syang po kc kung madissolve ng…Im willing to take the risks ng kapalit na hhngin nio. Un nlang tlaga pgasa ko na mkluwas kgd pra mhbol deadline ko po…My pic & supporting docs po ako sa www.mvelasco.cjb.net – marie
I saw this modus operandi last year so I wasn’t surprised. Obviously, it’s a scam. On the site, this Annamarie Velasco claims to be a graduate of BS Information Management Major in Computer Accountancy from the Unviersity of St. La Salle. There’s no such course in USLS. She’s also supposedly a DOST Scholar. No such course is in DOST’s list. I should know, I used to work there.
I told my officemate who’s from La Salle and it was confirmed when she talked with somebody from Admin that this person is not a student of USLS. The administration already knew about this modus operandi through their extension office two years ago. Obviously they were not able to apprehend this person using the name of the school. We were also informed that she has already victimized several people.
I replied to her text, asking how I may help her. As expected, she asked for money. We played along hoping we may get some information which we can use to help the authorities. When I asked how I can give her the money, she said through Smart Padala or LBC. She gave me the same name and the same address she had on her website. We assumed she had produced a fake ID just like the fake diploma and transcript of records she uploaded on her website. When I texted her that I’m in Bacolod and I suggested we meet in SM City she stopped texting.
The person is really smart. We thought we will just blog about this and tell as much people as we can so that this person can no longer victimize others. I just feel sorry for her victims — the people who gave her money, the person whose picture is being used for this scam, the real Annamrie Velasco and for USLS whose name is being dragged on this. I hope the authorities can catch this person soon.
Please spread the word about this scam so that no person will be victimized again.


{ 26 comments… read them below or add one }
← Previous Comments
kailangan ata to entrapment… somebody should send money to her through LBC (in specific LBC branch), then a police should be standby in that branch. Also, LBC personnel should be informed prior to entrapment. If somebody will claim the money, then police should take her even though she is not Annamarie Velasco.
strikes again this 9 april 2010 same story walang bago nassa akin nos nya,it seems alam din nya blogs na ito dapat dito birahin sa wetpu.
I think somebody should entrap her. Somebody should send money to her through LBC (in specific LBC branch), then police should be standby in the LBC branch. LBC management should also be aware. If somebody will claim the money, police should caught her even though she is not Annamarie Velasco.
this annamarie person has struck again, i received the same message this month and when i didnt reply, she texted me again with a bio-data like text message. good you have a blog like this to warn off people who might believe her text.
ito latest http://www.negros.tk na gamit nya.dami na palang profile ginamit ng animal na ito..calling NBI
← Previous Comments