Beware of Annamarie Velasco

by PromdiBlogger on April 9, 2009

I received this text message last March 30.

Pued pob akong humingi ng 2long sa inyo? I’m Marie, 21yo freshgrad po from Bacolod City. Ggawin ko po ang lahat ng kpalit na gusto nio, ma2lungannyo lang po akong mkpunta sa mynila. My job hiring na po kc sna ako jan sa san mig-ortigas, syang po kc kung madissolve ng…Im willing to take the risks ng kapalit na hhngin nio. Un nlang tlaga pgasa ko na mkluwas kgd pra mhbol deadline ko po…My pic & supporting docs po ako sa www.mvelasco.cjb.net – marie

I saw this modus operandi last year so I wasn’t surprised. Obviously, it’s a scam. On the site, this Annamarie Velasco claims to be a graduate of BS Information Management Major in Computer Accountancy from the Unviersity of St. La Salle. There’s no such course in USLS. She’s also supposedly  a DOST Scholar. No such course is in DOST’s list. I should know, I used to work there.

I told my officemate who’s from La Salle and it was confirmed when she talked with somebody from Admin that this person is not a student of USLS. The administration already knew about this modus operandi through their extension office two years ago. Obviously they were not able to apprehend this person using the name of the school. We were also informed that she has already victimized several people.

I replied to her text, asking how I may help her. As expected, she asked for money. We played along hoping we may get some information which we can use to help the authorities. When I asked how I can give her the money, she said through Smart Padala or LBC. She gave me the same name and the same address she had on her website. We assumed she had produced a fake ID just like the fake diploma and transcript of records she uploaded on her website. When I texted her that I’m in Bacolod and I suggested we meet in SM City she stopped texting.

The person is really smart. We thought we will just blog about this and tell as much people as we can so that this person can no longer victimize others. I just feel sorry for her victims — the people who gave her money, the person whose picture is being used for this scam, the real Annamrie Velasco and for USLS whose name is being dragged on this. I hope the authorities can catch this person soon.

Please spread the word about this scam so that no person will be victimized again.

{ 26 comments… read them below or add one }

arpee lazaro April 9, 2009 at 2:03 pm

wow thanks for he heads up. i do hope they catch this monster

Reply

Babsy April 9, 2009 at 2:04 pm

Well she mentioned she would do anything, why not have her meet you :P hehehe

Babsys last blog post..Making a Costume of My Daughter for Easter Sunday

Reply

PromdiBlogger April 9, 2009 at 2:17 pm

She stopped texting when I told her I’m in Bacolod and I’ll just meet her somewhere. We have an idea of how we may catch this person but we will try talking with some lawyer friends first and probably those in authority. or maybe imbestigador. hehehe

Reply

Tikalon April 9, 2009 at 5:02 pm

I’ve received a text from that person too. Complete with personal information and vital statistics. Hahaha. Tapos when I didn’t reply to her first two messages, she texted me to “follow up” on her request for help to get to Manila. Hahaha. Daw BS Accountancy pa bala iya course kuno, IIRC.

Reply

anniemay April 10, 2009 at 10:41 am

lolz glad may inconsistencies sa iya awards. high school category iya globe award. tapos ang cum laude nga certificate sang la salle sa bond paper nalang gali gina print? paubra man ko bala heheh

Reply

PromdiBlogger April 10, 2009 at 9:24 pm

@Tikalon – hahaha, yes with vital statistics pa. ambot lang ha, except for those with really good intentions of helping daw laban gid mabiktima ang may lain man nga tuyo.

@Ann- gani, daw sa kapiho sa iya. may piture pa na ya iya transcript.

Reply

aming April 13, 2009 at 9:23 am

gintext ya man ko, same thing.. dw naka template nlg ni iya text… i asked her how she got my #, hambal nya tanan daw nga 09178* gntxt nya randomly.. hmmm… naka unli text ni siya? hehe.. anyway, also observed another inconsistency, fresh grad daw siya, pero diplomas and transcript showed 2008 dates… i’ve asked my friend whose working in globe as well if they can help tracing her mobile #. Hopefully there’s some way we could catch this scammer!

Reply

aming April 13, 2009 at 9:29 am

another thing, nakabutang sa TOR nya special order # …… etc… w/c shows lang na fake ini.. fyi guys, USLS is exempted from special order due to its accreditation in PAASCU and is already granted full autonomy by CHED for several years now.

Reply

Marge Zerrudo April 15, 2009 at 12:13 pm

my friend received this txt last night.he told me about this girl who need help to have a job.we are both working in an agency. i asked him about the number and i txted it but she did not reply. my friend told me to check for the site and confirm if it is true and i found out that it is just one of so many scams…i hope the person involved in this scam must be put behind the bars!

Reply

parham castroverde April 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

I read about annamarie velasco also in other blogs. I don’t think it was her picture in her website. In her posting in http://mvelasco.cjb.net., Annamarie (guess not her real name) said: “I don’t have any options but to offer myself… Im decided… I better lose it for good purpose… Hindi ko alam kung kailan ako gigising isang umaga na may handa ng tumulong sa ‘kin makapunta ng Maynila… I really need a new life…” I am very certain that this is not the way a Univ. of St. La Salle graduate would think or write, to the extent of offering herself for sex in exchange for travel expenses of going to Manila just to work in Ortigas. It is also very absurd that her transcript of records from the USLS had a picture, which is contrary to the standard practice of USLS. I should know, I am a USLS graduate myself. USLS admin should post a disclaimer about this annamarie velasco or take steps to apprehend this crazy scammer who drag the name, prestige and reputation of USLS into her monkey business way of making money.

Reply

PromdiBlogger April 15, 2009 at 11:33 pm

And she has the gall to follow up. hahaha!

Reply

Serenity April 16, 2009 at 12:59 pm

Ana marie strikes again. Sent me an email yesterday (April 15, 2009) and today (April 16, 2009) using this number (09052217933). The message is the same as those mentioned here. Asking for money for her travel to Manila. I didn’t replied again and opted to look her website but instead found this blog. Well, I never intended to give her any money as i am not rich. I am just curious.

Reply

AntiCybercrime May 17, 2009 at 2:58 am

This girl is obviously a faker/ poser.
Well crafted scam.
She’s an intelligent scammer.
She will ask you to send money via a bank account or money transfer (Western Union, LBC).
Enough said about her. She is already being tracked by Anti Cybercrime Syndicate, a private group going after cyber-scammers.
Her days are numbered!

If you have received a message in your cell phone from these numbers beware!!!

09052216028
09052217933
09052213787
09065165474
09154039462
09154350057
09159884255
09167855883
09166972482
09263963492
09272446053
09278112032
09276134786
09276135063
09295622736

Reply

rixx August 10, 2009 at 7:47 am

also this number.. 09276135114

Reply

rach May 26, 2009 at 12:23 am

Hi!

Wow! grabe naman na itong scam na ito… di man lng siya makonsensiya sa mga taong tumulong sa kanya thinking they can give her a better future.

Bad talaga! :(

rachs last blog post..Life of being an Overseas Filipino Worker (OFW)

Reply

Maricel June 25, 2009 at 9:20 pm

I got this message from Ana Marie Velasco last May, naawa pa naman ako at sinabi kong baka mapahamak pa sya sa ginagawa nya, and she said she’ll do anything…blah blah… And just yesterday she texted me again asking if i can really help her, and finally i told her “sorry but i cannot help you financially.” Di na sya reply.

Grabe naawa pa naman ako talaga sa kanya. Bakit ba daming manloloko? Buti nalang hindi ako mayaman hehehe

Reply

fur July 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

She/He must be fed with Dora… & have him/her drunk with kerosene then light his/her but. Bwahaha.. after I sent a 100peso load.. shit…

Reply

Yul August 17, 2009 at 3:31 am

Also got the same SMS msg recently from 0927-613-5114. Paano kaya hulihin itong scammer?

Reply

Gen G September 9, 2009 at 4:54 pm

OMG?! Is this real? I got a message from her. The same one you posted! Exactly the message. Her number is not the same though. It’s 09276135162. I offered her help by saying why not ask for extension. Or I may help you by contacting your aunt. But she demands the transpo. I even asked some people I know to verify her records but there’s nothing found. This person is really good though. Didn’t know that this had been happening since April.

Reply

PinkBuff21 September 16, 2009 at 8:04 am

OMG, my husband kept on receiving text messages from this girl… i knew this is a scam… but i still checked the internet only to find out the truth…

Reply

PinkBuff21 September 16, 2009 at 3:52 pm

here is her new number 0927-6134784 nag text ulit… grabe…

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: